Tech Reviews

The guaranteed followers on twitter game — Block or Ignore?

For the past several months, when it comes to the guaranteed followers on Twitter game, I’ve played along by blocking them all and reporting them to Twitter as spam accounts.

I have no idea whether that’s helping or the bots that are targeting my Twitter accounts know they’ve been blocked and thereby have an algorithm written to have another fake account follow me and repeat the cycle all over again. Screen Shot 2014-07-13 at 11.36.57 AM Screen Shot 2014-07-13 at 11.36.49 AM

The past week or two, I’ve just been ignoring them.

I’m not going to pay to have additional fake Twitter followers just so my account numbers rise.

No, I’ve done well with @DaddyClaxton since 2008 to get it above 13.8 followers and even the @ClaxtonCreative account above 3,500.

Yes, I’ve followed some strategies, like following certain foke and them following back. But I’ve done it honestly, with the truest intentions of being connected to like-minded foke on Twitter.

The @DaddyClaxton Twitter handle largely follows dads, moms, and many of the brands I’ve ever personally worked with or had considerable issues with, like Firehouse Subs. The @ClaxtonCreative Twitter handle has been largely reserved for things associated with the publishing industry, the Internet, and books for iPad, our specialty.

Why on earth would I want to artificially inflate my account following with followers that really aren’t real? Ultimately, that gets me nowhere in the true mission of trying to connect, share like ideas, and grow to something new.

So how do you treat Twitter followers that promise you thousands of followers for $29? Same for Facebook, YouTube and Instagram?

Google, Chase, AT&T, Geico, etc, Video Web Commercials Suck

Google, Chase, AT&T, Geico, etc, Video Web Commercials Suck

You shouldn't have to watch a commercial to see every new story on a website.

You shouldn’t have to watch a commercial to see every new story on a website.

It’s the latest advertising model–you go to almost any news website and click on a story that has video and a commercial from Google, Chase, AT&T, Geico, a car company, SOMEONE is going to run.

What do I do? One of three things. 1) I stop the video about three or four seconds into it, 2) I want to watch the piece I actually wanted to watch, so I turn off the audio so I don’t hear the spot, 3) I leave the page completely.

And I’m not alone. I’ve polled PR professional colleagues in Dallas about this and the responses were the same.

This model of advertising is NOT working.

No one should have to watch four Chase Bank commercials to view four video stories on CNN.com or Fox News or any news site over and over and over.

And what sense does it make for me to be forced to watch the same spot that’s over saturated on TV, too?

STOP IT!

Advertisers and website managers, this isn’t working. If I could create an automated function that made my browsers go from one page to the next on a site like CNN so your spots would run 24/7 and no one would see them and I’d run up an expensive bill for you, I’d do it in a heartbeat if this would get your attention.  Gosh, maybe that’s the answer and give it away to friends across Facebook so they’d launch it on their systems, too, and then…

This model is NOT working. I am not going to watch your spots like this. And I hope other people won’t either.  No one should have to watch umpteen commercials to get information that should be free across the net, and if sites like CNN are going to go full bore on such tactics, well, I’ve pretty much moved on from CNN as a news source anyways.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

I Regularly Block Fake Twitter Followers, @GilGul

I regularly block fake Twitter followers, but not this guy who wrote a column for the LA Times Sunday. Though he claims he did it for experimentation purposes, and I have to give him that, it is good to know how this could help, it’s just plain wrong and a growing problem with Twitter I wish they would get a handle on.

It’s every day when I go on my multiple Twitter accounts and block/report accounts for spam. Most of the time, they’re offers to buy thousands of new followers for just $5. Until I read the LA Times piece, I thought even that was a sham, but it turns out what you’re buying is a bunch of fake accounts all made to look like they’re real. Apparently musicians, politicians, brands and the like use this technique often to give themselves addition credibility on Twitter and thereby across the Net. 
Screen Shot 2014-06-01 at 9.46.28 AM

This would be all well and good, until it came time to use Twitter as the communications exchange medium it was designed to be.  Until you wanted to affect or activate your followers and send out a message saying “read this” or we need your help on this “call to action.”  Then you’re just talking to NO ONE.

I wish Twitter was more actively stopping this use of their API and service. Surely there has to be a way to detect this rather than having fokes like myself blocking and reporting for spam each day.

On my DaddyClaxton account, I have more than 13,670 followers. I’ve not paid for a single follower and I’m not about to start. The ClaxtonCreative account is above 3,400 followers and the same fact is true. I’ve earned those followers by seeking out like-mined people, trying to find out what they have to say and share with the world about subjects in which I have a real and valid interest. I don’t have time nor interest in creating a fake situation, one where it appears that I have followers who I do not really have.

There have been many documented times when I’ve gone through my followers and cut them back, too, because they weren’t updating any longer, or because they were fake.  You should do the same. Why sort through noise when you can get to information that’s helpful?

Please, if you have followers on Twitter who are offering you thousands of followers for $5, just do like I do and block them and report them to Twitter. Hopefully, if enough of us do that, it’ll put a stop or dent in the business. If we continue to go in this direction, Twitter is going to become more and more useless to us all.

Screen Shot 2014-06-01 at 9.46.45 AM

Enhanced by Zemanta

AT&T Network Resetting in Montgomery, AL

AT&T Network Resetting in Montgomery, AL

UPDATE May 31, 2014: A rep from AT&T via Twitter said thanks and this post had been a great help. I’m glad it was. I spend a lot of money, too much money, every month with AT&T.  Glad an outsider could help them fix an issue. Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 7.38.21 PM

Last night I posted a thread about not being able to text photos via iMessage to my mom and sister in Montgomery, AL. They both have iPhones and are on AT&T.

To his credit, George from AT&T responded via Twitter and then put me on the phone with an operator who literally wanted to “Axe” me a few questions.  (Really? You’d figure internal screening and training would have put a stop to this.)

Back to the problem. For more than three weeks now photos have not been going thru to AT&T iPhones in Montgomery and I have figured out why, not by talking to AT&T, who says their systems are working fine, but through talking to three different people at Apple.

RESET NETWORK SETTINGSAT&T network resetting

Apparently, AT&T has done something lately to their network in Montgomery, AL which is precluding photos from outside the city to come thru. I’ve had others from around the country try to text into the Capital City and received the same results.  I tried this with another iPhone user in Montgomery, this one using Verizon, and the photo went straight thru.

To remedy the problem, go to Settings > General> and then all the way down to RESET > and then down to RESET NETWORK SETTINGS. Tap that setting and follow the prompts. The phone will then reconnect with the towers in Montgomery and on my mom’s phone, she can once again receive photos via iMessage from outside of Montgomery.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Apple, What’s Up With Sending Photos In iMessage?

Apple, What’s Up With Sending Photos In iMessage?

UPDATE: I’ve isolated the issue tonight–it’s photos sent via text to Montgomery, Alabama that are not going thru. My mom and my sister, in particular, both on iPhones, both on AT&T in Montgomery, which suggests to me this isn’t an Apple issue, it’s an AT&T problem. 

UPDATE May 28, 2014 10:28 a.m.— I spent 15 minutes on the phone with an AT&T rep last night who tried to say it was my phone that was making it so I couldn’t send pics via iMessage to my mom and sister in Montgomery, AL, however, I had four other people try to do the same thing and they wouldn’t go thru.  Now on the phone with Apple Care.

UPDATE May 28, 10:31 a.m. — And after waiting on the phone for five minutes, Apple Care hung up without ever talking to anyone.  Second call now.

 

For about three weeks now, whenever I send a photo via iMessage on the iMac, iPhone and even iPad, most of the time I get a red circle with an exclamation point in the middle that says my photo didn’t send. But if I check another device, it has.Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 9.08.13 PM

Apple, what’s up with this?

As weird as it sounds, when a person shows that they’ve read the message sent with the photos, the red dots go away. Weirder still, is they sent to my other devices.

But they did not go to the person I sent them to.

Apple, this is a very strange problem and it’s gone on for a couple of weeks now. What’s up?

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Wordfence Security for WordPress Has Opened My Eyes

Wordfence Security for WordPress Has Opened My Eyes

There’s a lot of noise about Web security these days and one has to wonder how much of it is inflated to sell software and services and how much of it is real. With the release of Glenn Greenwald’s book this month, No Place To Hide, about Edward J. Snowden and national security, the speculation is to be raised even more. Wordfence Alerts

Months ago we wouldn’t have believed how much goes on in trying to attack a website. That was until we began religiously employing the WordPress plugin WORDFENCE to every site we manage.

That has been an eye-opening experience. Even websites for smaller local clients constantly are bombarded by IP addresses, most often in other countries, trying to break into their Admin login and damage the site.

Alerts constantly come in from Wordfence because a bot in Europe has been targeted against a client, this site or DaddyClaxton.com. How it would strategically benefit a group in Europe, Russia, China, North Korea, Iran, the Netherlands, or wherever to gain access to these sites is unimagineable, but regardless, the battle goes on nearly 365/7 and it is constant.

We write this in hopes of two things. 1) Raising your awareness that if you’re running a WordPress site and not using Wordfence, you probably should be just so you’re aware of how hard others are trying to get into your site. 2) You’d better have some fairly strong passwords, and you might want to delete the ADMIN login all together and use another person or name as such. It appears most of the bot attacks our clients, and we get, are preprogrammed to use Admin as the user name and if it isn’t even in your WordPress system, you’re already miles ahead of them.

Wordfence can be configured so that you get an email every time someone is locked out from trying to hack into your site. Or, you can choose not to be notified. It also can be set up to send someone a notification for every time someone with admin capabilities accesses your site,  just in case someone nefarious actually does get in, you’ll know it immediately.

It’s a shame this is what has become of the Internet, but it’s also a fact of life, it’s not going to go away. Wordfence. You need it. And if bots are hammering away so hard at minor WordPress sites, think of how many are programmed to get into your Facebook, Twitter and other accounts once they know your email address….

Enhanced by Zemanta

Text Not Appearing In iBooks Author? This May Be Why….

Text Not Appearing In iBooks Author? This May Be Why….

Got a great looking layout going in a book for iPad using iBooks Author only to find out once you get it over to the iPad that a portion of the text is missing and you have no idea why?

The answer may be simpler than you’d expect. In all likelihood, your iPad memory is fine. There’s nothing wrong with the .iBooks or .iba file.  The answer we have found is that the text layering in iBooks Author matters when it is surrounded by lots of graphics and even other possibly overlapping text boxes.

The answer?  Simple.  Go back into the file, go to the page where the text is “missing” on the iPad, highlight the text box, and then right click. When the dialogue box appears, pull down to MOVE TO FRONT.  Then go thru the Preview process of moving your book over to your iPad and we suspect, 95 percent of the time, this is going to solve your very perplexing and possibly embarrassing issue.

Below are two photos of a real project where this was happening to us.  As you can see, on the iPad, the two sentences “Emergency Responders will practice ‘HELP.’ We’ll talk more about this in a minute,” have been mangled.  When we did the steps above and moved the text box “To The Front” the problem disappeared.
IBA text1
IBA text2

d

Enhanced by Zemanta

CNN TO FURLOUGH ‘UNNECESSARY REPORTERS’ UNTIL MH370 IS FOUND

Editor’s Note: Dear Onion, you’re welcome. 

CNN TO FURLOUGH HUNDREDS OF ‘UNNECESSARY REPORTERS’ UNTIL MH370 IS FOUND

(CNN) The president of CNN Worldwide, Jeff Zucker, Thursday announced that the global news network will be issuing furloughs to more than 350 employees worldwide until MH370 has been found in order to save the media company thousands in salaries for doing nothing else while a handful of crack reporters, including Erin Burnett, Wolf Blizter, Pamela Brown, and Don Lemon carry out their endless filibuster of BREAKING NEWS coverage about the Malaysian missing plane.Unknown

“We’ve decided that we’re wasting money with all these other folks around and in order to save on the CNN budget, the best thing to do is to just send people home until the plane is found,” Zucker said. “We’re not going to cover another damned thing until we know exactly what happened on Flight MH370.”

Zucker said that the meant cable network was forgoing its exhaustive campaign to promote same-sex marriage in America, Putin’s land grab in Crimea and even President Obama’s trip to Europe and Saudi Arabia.

“I don’t’ care what’s going on in Michigan, the Crimea or what Obama’s doing unless the pilots turn out to be in favor of gay marriage, if the Malaysian plane landed in Crimea or the president is releasing the NSA audio of the phone call the pilot made right before takeoff,” Zucker said. “If it doesn’t involve MH370, it’s not news and it’s not going to be on CNN, so anyone not covering this story, well, we just need them to go home until we need them to come back.”

Zucker said his crack team of Blitzer, Burnett and Lemon have been driving up ratings the past 20 days since the plane went missing.

“Every other potential breaking news story is going into a Black Hole,” Zucker said. “We have spent more covering stories we didn’t report on air than the US government has reported spending in the air covering the search.”

Zucker said he is proud of the endless coverage his network has provided in the month of March.

“It’s been madness. I never knew we had such dedicated reporters who can sit there on set and say the same thing over and over and over and over and over with such limited information and make it sound fresh and new day after day after day after day after day,” Zucker said. “Hell, if I didn’t know any better, I’d say the plane had just crashed yesterday the way Wolf gets on there and talks about pingers and batteries and satellite imagery. This is what journalism is all about—giving the public a fresh insight on the very thing we have reported every day for the past 20 days at the same hour of every day since.”

Zucker said once the plane is found, he will consider bringing many of their staff back to work, but only until the plane is found. Otherwise, he said, there’s no need for them to come to work.

 (In case you are actually that dense, this is all fiction and tongue in cheek satire of how ridiculous the coverage on CNN has become.)

Enhanced by Zemanta

10.9.2 Mavericks Mail crashing repeatedly, Email from Contacts Going Automatically to Trash

10.9.2 Mavericks Mail crashing repeatedly, Email from Contacts Going Automatically to Trash

Apple, we have a problem.

Image representing Apple as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

I have had multiple Mail crashes today and emails coming from Contacts are going straight to Trash. All this while running the updated 10.9.2.

Yesterday, I also had a bizarre issue with Excel. It wouldn’t open and kept crashing. Word did the same thing.  I was finally able to get into a stable-running session with PowerPoint and do an update, which corrected the problem.

These are the major issues of note so far about 10.9.2.  I’ve not tried to use AirPlay like all the other complaints.  These two issues have been significant enough for me.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

iBooks News And Announcements — From Apple

Important information from Apple if you do any publishing on the iBookstore.

We recently added the following new features and updates to iBooks, iTunes Producer, and iTunes Connect:iBooks News and Announcements

  • Textbooks Available in All Territories
  • Interest Age for Children and Teens
  • iTunes Producer 3.0
  • Sizing Images in EPUB
  • Enabling Ticket Notifications

 

Textbooks Available in All Territories
Textbooks are now available in all 51 iBooks Store territories. To offer your textbooks in these new territories, sign the new agreement in Contracts, Tax, and Banking on iTunes Connect.

Interest Age for Children and Teens
Starting in June 2014, interest-age information will be required for all book deliveries in the following categories: Juvenile Fiction (BISAC), Children’s, Young Adult, and Educational (BIC), and Jeunesse (CLIL).

iTunes Producer 3.0
iTunes Producer has been updated to include new features, such as:

  • Redesigned User Interface
  • Streamlined Workflow
  • Built-In Help Center

Download iTunes Producer 3.0 from Deliver Your Content in iTunes Connect.

Sizing Images in EPUB
Recent updates to WebKit may affect the layout of your book if you used percentages to define element heights. For example, .image-container { height: 80%; } will no longer result in an image that is 80 percent of the page height. This WebKit update aligns with the W3C’s specification for the height property.

To define a dynamic height for an element like an image, use the “viewport height unit” instead. A “viewport height unit” is equal to one percent of the height of the initial containing block and is a dynamic sizing element.

For example, to assign a dynamic height to an image, use:

HTML:
<div class=“image-container”>
<img src=“images/bears.jpg” alt=“three bears peer at goldilocks”/>
</div>

CSS:
.image-container { height: 80vh; }
img { height: 100%; }

Enabling Ticket Notifications
In addition to using Ticket History or Ticket Catalog Reports on iTunes Connect, you can choose to be sent email notifications as soon as a ticket is issued against your book. To enable these notifications:

  1. Go to Manage Users on iTunes Connect.
  2. Click Edit Profile.
  3. In the Notifications tab, select Worldwide in the Content column.
  4. Click Save.
Enhanced by Zemanta
1 2